Close Button

Important Note

The “StayHomeSafe” telephone hotline (1833 019) of the Home Affairs Department renders support and assistance to persons under the “StayHomeSafe” Scheme. Its service hours are from 7am to 11pm daily.

We remind you to stay vigilant to fraudulent phone calls and correspondence claiming to be from our office. We will not normally make calls to members of the public through the hotline. We will not make phone calls or write to members of the public to ask them to provide personal information or make any payment. As our hotline is operated by a central telephone system, the hotline number 2835 2500 will not be displayed. If you have any doubt, please contact our staff for verification or please call the Hong Kong Police Anti-Deception Coordination Centre 24-hour Anti-Scam Helpline 18222 for enquiry. For details, please browse the following press releases –

Press release dated 8 October 2019

Press release dated 26 July 2019

Press release dated 28 April 2017

Press release dated 5 April 2017

Public Services

top-banner

What is Intermeddling?

Note

  1. This section has no legal effect. In case of queries, please consult your lawyer or seek legal advice through the Free Legal Advice Scheme of the Duty Lawyer Service.
 

Introduction

  1. This section aims to explain in simple terms the intermeddling provisions introduced into the Probate and Administration Ordinance (Cap. 10) by the Revenue (Abolition of Estate Duty) Ordinance 2005. Such provisions are applicable to the handling of the estate in Hong Kong of a person who died on or after 11 February 2006.
  2. The Estate Duty Ordinance (Cap. 111) provides for sanction against the intermeddling of estates. The provisions therein are mainly for revenue protection purposes, but incidentally also protect the interests of the beneficiaries in the estate. Following the abolition of estate duty in respect of the estate of persons who died on or after 11 February 2006 , the protection afforded under the Estate Duty Ordinance falls away. In order to safeguard the interests of the beneficiaries in the estate or properties of the deceased person, provisions of similar effects have been introduced in the Probate and Administration Ordinance.
 

The Intermeddling Provisions

  1. It is a criminal offence under the Probate and Administration Ordinance to administer or deal with any property of a person who died on or after 11 February 2006 without lawful authority or reasonable excuse. Section 60J of the Probate and Administration Ordinance is relevant. A person guilty of intermeddling shall be liable on conviction to -

    1. a fine at level 3; and
    2. an additional penalty which is equal to the value of the intermeddled part of the estate or the intermeddled part of the income of the estate.

 

Schedule of Assets and Liabilities of the Deceased Person

  1. A schedule of assets and liabilities of the deceased person located in Hong Kong would serve as a ready reference for parties with a legitimate interest in the estate. The law requires the applicant for -

    1. summary administration of the estate;
    2. grant of probate or letters of administration; or
    3. sealing of a grant issued by a foreign court of probate


    to prepare and file with the Probate Registry an affidavit exhibiting a schedule of assets and liabilities of the deceased person in support of the relevant application. Corrective affidavits and additional schedules to correct any omission or inaccuracy in the schedule of assets and liabilities are required if such is detected subsequently.

 

Legal Responsibilities of Executor, etc.

  1. The executor of the deceased person or the person entitled in priority to administer the estate may not take possession of or administer any part of the estate unless he has filed with the Probate Registry an application for grant of representation. However, the law also provides for a "prescribed period" during which the executor or the person entitled in priority to administer the estate may take possession of or administer such estate without having first filed an application for grant as long as his/her application is subsequently filed within the prescribed period. This allows time for the executor or the person entitled in priority to administer the estate to collect information regarding the assets and liabilities of the deceased person and deal with urgent issues related to the estate.

  2. Any executor or person entitled in priority to administer the estate who -

    1. takes possession of or administers any property of the deceased person within the prescribed period and fails to file with the Probate Registry an application for grant (supported by an affidavit exhibiting the schedule of assets and liabilities of the deceased person) on the expiry of the prescribed period;
    2. takes possession of or administers any property of the deceased person after the expiry of the prescribed period without first filing with the Probate Registry an application for grant (supported by an affidavit exhibiting the schedule of assets and liabilities of the deceased person); or
    3. handles any property of the deceased person that is not in the schedule of assets and liabilities (or the additional schedules) filed with the Probate Registry in support of the application for grant,

    commits an offence.

  3. The "prescribed period" is 18 months from the date of death of the deceased person in cases where an application for sealing of a grant issued by a foreign court of probate is involved; in all other cases, the prescribed period is 12 months from the date of death of the deceased person.

 

Legal Responsibilities of Other Parties

  1. It is an offence for any person to deal with any part of the estate of the deceased person that is not set out in the relevant schedule of assets and liabilities or additional schedules without lawful authority or reasonable excuse.

  2. It is also an offence for any person to take possession of or in any way administer any part of the estate or any part of the income of the estate without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, or without first filing with the Probate Registry an application for grant supported by an affidavit exhibiting a schedule setting out the relevant part of the estate.

 

Protection for Bank and Staff

  1. The Director of Home Affairs, under the delegated authority by the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, may issue on application -

    1. a Certificate for Necessity of Release of Money from the bank account(s) of the deceased person under special circumstances to meet -
      1. funeral expenses of the deceased person;
      2. maintenance of former dependant(s) of the deceased person;
    2. a Certificate for Necessity of Inspection of Bank Deposit Box;
    3. a Authorization for Removal from Bank Deposit Box; and
    4. a Confirmation Notice in respect of small estate wholly made up of money not exceeding $50,000 in aggregate,


    to relieve possible hardship following the death of the deceased person and to facilitate the administration of the estate. If an employee of the bank has followed the provisions set out in the relevant certificate/authorization/notice and has acted in good faith and exercised due care in performing the function(s), the bank and the employee in question shall be regarded as having acted with lawful authority. Furthermore, the bank and the employee shall not incur any civil liability for such actions relating to the certificate/authorization set out at (a) to (c) above.

  2. The law also provides for specific arrangements in respect of "jointly rented safe deposit box with survivorship arrangement" (i.e. where the box is kept pursuant to an agreement under the terms of which the access to the contents of the box of any renter of the box is not affected by the death of any other renter of the box). The bank may allow the surviving renter to exercise his right of access to the box on the expiry of 12 months after the death of the deceased joint renter provided that an inventory of the contents of the box has been prepared in accordance with the legal requirements. Where an employee of the bank has acted in good faith and exercised due care in allowing the surviving renter to exercise that right, the bank and the employee shall, for the purposes of the intermeddling provisions, be regarded as having acted with lawful authority.

 

Exemption from Intermeddling Provisions in respect of Small Estates

  1. In order to facilitate the administration of small estates, the Director of Home Affairs, under the delegated authority by the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, may issue on application a Confirmation Notice in respect of a small estate -

    1. wholly made up of money not exceeding $50,000 in aggregate as at date of death; and
    2. where the deceased person did not hold any property as trustee or as the manager of a Tso or Tong as at date of death.

  2. Where the Confirmation Notice is in force, the taking possession of or administration of the money as set out in the schedule attached thereto by the holder and any act incidental thereto shall be exempted from the relevant intermeddling provisions. However, the holder of the Confirmation Notice is still legally obliged to appropriately discharge his role as the executor or the person entitled in priority to administer the estate.

  3. For more information on how to apply for a Confirmation Notice, please click here.
 

Enquiries

  1. If you wish to obtain further information on applications for summary administration of estate, grant of probate or letters of administration or sealing of a foreign grant, you may contact the Probate Registry.

  2. For information on applications for Certificate for Necessity of Release of Money, Certificate for Necessity of Inspection of Bank Deposit Box, Authorization for Removal from Bank Deposit Box and Confirmation Notice, you may contact the Estate Beneficiaries Support Unit.

关闭按钮

重要公告

民政事务总署“居安抗疫”电话热线(1833 019)为在家隔离的新冠病毒确诊人士提供支援和协助,运作时间为每日早上七时至晚上十一时。

热线已由一月三十日起停止接受确诊人士就基本日常用品和食物的派递要求,并将于二月五日晚上十一时后停止运作。

本署提醒市民,小心伪冒声称来自本署的来电及来信,在一般情况下我们不会以查询热线致电市民,我们也不会致电或以书面形式要求市民提供个人资料或缴交款项。由于我们的查询热线以中央电话系统操作,本署的来电不会显示电话号码 2835 2500 。如有疑问,应与本署职员核实或向警方 反诈骗协调中心 24小时防骗易谘询热线 18222 查询。详情请浏览以下新闻公报:

二零一九年十月八日的新闻公报

二零一九年七月二十六日的新闻公报

二零一七年四月二十八日的新闻公报

二零一七年四月五日的新闻公报

公共服务

top-banner

何谓擅自处理遗产?

  1. 本部分并无法律效力。如有任何疑问,请徵询律师的意见,或通过当值律师服务的免费法律谘询计划徵询法律意见。

 

引言

  1. 本部分简单介绍,当局通过《 2005 年收入 (取消遗产税) 条例》,在《遗嘱认证及遗产管理条例》 (香港法例第 10 章)加入有关擅自处理遗产的条文。任何人处理在二零零六年二月十一日或之后去世的人士在香港的遗产时,必须遵守有关条文的规定。

  2. 《遗产税条例》 (香港法例第 111 章)就擅自处理遗产的行为订明罚则。条文主要是为了保障税收,但也附带保障遗产受益人对死者遗产所享有的权益。当局取消向在二零零六年二月十一日或之后去世的人士的遗产徵收遗产税后,遗产受益人的权益便不再受《遗产税条例》保障。有鑑于此,当局在《遗嘱认证及遗产管理条例》中增订类似的条文,以保障遗产受益人对死者遗产或财产所享有的权益。

 

有关擅自处理遗产的条文

  1. 根据《遗嘱认证及遗产管理条例》 (香港法例第 10 章)第 60J 条,任何人如无合法权限或合理辩解而管理或处理在二零零六年二月十一日或之后去世的人士的任何财产,均属干犯刑事罪行。任何人触犯擅自处理遗产的罪行,一经定罪,可被处:

    1. 第 3 级罚款,以及
    2. 额外罚款,相等于该部分被擅自处理的遗产的价值或该部分被擅自处理的遗产所得收入。
 

死者的资产负债清单

  1. 一份详列死者在香港的所有资产及负债的清单,可供对遗产享有合法权益的人士参照。根据法例规定,任何人申请:

    1. 以简易方式管理遗产,
    2. 遗嘱认证或遗产管理书,或
    3. 在香港以外地方的遗嘱认证法院发出的遗产承办书上盖章 ,


    均须作出誓章,并送交遗产承办处存档,誓章须夹附死者的资产负债清单作为证物,以支持有关申请。申请人其后如发现资产负债清单有任何错漏,须提交修正誓章和额外清单,以作出更正。

 

遗嘱执行人等的法律责任

  1. 死者的遗嘱执行人或有权优先管理死者遗产的人士在没有向遗产承办处申请遗产承办书之前,不可管有或管理任何部分的遗产。不过,法例也规定,遗嘱执行人或有权优先管理死者遗产的人士在「订明期间」内,可在尚未向遗产承办处申请遗产承办书的情况下,管有或管理有关遗产,但有关人士其后须在订明期间内递交申请。有关规定是为了给予遗嘱执行人或有权优先管理死者遗产的人士足够时间,收集有关死者的资产和负债的资料,以及处理涉及遗产的急切事务。

  2. 遗嘱执行人或有权优先管理死者遗产的人士,如有以下行为,即属违法:

    1. 在订明期间内管有或管理死者的任何财产,而没有在订明期间届满前向遗产承办处申请遗产承办书,并附同誓章以及在誓章夹附死者的资产负债清单作为证物;
    2. 在订明期间届满后管有或管理死者的任何财产,而没有先行向遗产承办处申请遗产承办书,并附同誓章以及在誓章夹附死者的资产负债清单作为证物;或
    3. 处理死者的任何财产,而有关的财产没有列于提交遗产承办处,用以支持申请遗产承办书的资产负债清单 ( 或额外清单 ) 。

  3. 申请在香港以外地方的遗嘱认证法院发出的遗产承办书上盖章,「订明期间」是指由死者去世当日起计的 18 个月;至于其他情况,「订明期间」是指由死者去世当日起计的 12 个月。
 

其他人士的法律责任

  1. 任何人如无合法权限或合理辩解而处理死者任何部分的遗产,而该部分遗产并未列于有关的资产负债清单或额外清单,即属违法。

  2. 任何人如无合法权限或合理辩解而管有或以任何方法管理死者任何部分的遗产或遗产所得收入的任何部分,或没有先行向遗产承办处申请遗产承办书,并附同誓章以及在誓章夹附列明该部分遗产的资产负债清单作为证物,也属违法。

 

对银行和银行僱员的保障

  1. 民政事务总署署长根据民政及青年事务局局长转授的权力,在接获申请后:

    1. 可在特别情况下发出「需要支用款项证明书」,批准从死者银行户口支用款项,以支付:
      1. 死者的殡殓开支;
      2. 死者生前赡养的人士的生活费;
    2. 可发出「需要检视银行保管箱证明书」;
    3. 可发出「自银行保管箱取去物品授权书」;
    4. 可就总额不超过 50,000 元的款项的小额遗产发出「确认通知书」。


    这些安排是为了纾缓死者去世后其亲属可能面对的困难,并方便有关人士管理死者的遗产。如银行僱员遵循有关的证明书/授权书/通知书所载的规定,并在执行职责时以真诚及应有的谨慎行事,则有关的银行和僱员须视为已具有行事的合法权限。此外,有关的银行和僱员不会因根据上文 (a) 至 (c) 项所述的证明书/授权书行事而招致任何民事法律责任。

  2. 关于「有尚存安排的联名租用的保管箱」 ( 即根据租用保管箱的合约条款,该保管箱的任何租用人去世,并不影响该保管箱的任何其他租用人自保管箱取去物品 ) ,法例也订明了具体的安排。在死者已去世 12 个月后,只要保管箱物品清单已按照法例规定备妥,银行可准许尚存租用人行使取用该保管箱内所载物品的权利。如银行僱员在准许尚存租用人行使这项权利时,是以真诚及应有的谨慎行事,就擅自处理遗产的条文而言,有关的银行和僱员须视为已具有行事的合法权限。

 

小额遗产免受擅自处理遗产的条文约束

  1. 为了方便有关人士管理小额遗产,民政事务总署署长根据民政及青年事务局局长转授的权力,在接获申请后,可在以下情况发出确认通知书:

    1. 在死者去世当日,所有遗产必须为总额不超过 50,000 元的款项;
    2. 在死者去世当日,死者没有以信託人身分或祖/堂的经理或司理身分持有任何财产。
  2. 在确认通知书有效期间,确认通知书的持有人如管有或管理该通知书夹附的清单所列的款项,或作出任何附带作为,均可免受擅自处理遗产的条文约束。不过,确认通知书的持有人仍负有法律责任,须适当地履行其作为遗嘱执行人或有权优先管理死者遗产的人士的职责。
  3. 有关申请确认通知书的进一步资料,请按此处
 

查询

  1. 关于申请以简易方式管理遗产、遗产承办书或在香港以外地方的遗嘱认证法院发出的遗产承办书上盖章,如需要进一步的资料,可联络高等法院遗产承办处

  2. 关于申请「需要支用款项证明书」、「需要检视银行保管箱证明书」、「自银行保管箱取去物品授权书」,以及「确认通知书」的资料,可联络民政事务总署遗产受益人支援组