Important Note

The Home Affairs Department has set up Enquiry Hotline 2835 1473 for people under home quarantine in relation to novel coronavirus epidemic. The operating hours of the Hotline are from 9am to 6pm, Monday to Friday except public holidays.

We remind you to stay vigilant to fraudulent phone calls and correspondence claiming to be from our office. We will not normally make calls to members of the public through the hotline. We will not make phone calls or write to members of the public to ask them to provide personal information or make any payment. As our hotline is operated by a central telephone system, the hotline number 2835 2500 will not be displayed. If you have any doubt, please contact our staff for verification or please call the Hong Kong Police Anti-Deception Coordination Centre 24-hour Anti-Scam Helpline 18222 for enquiry. For details, please browse the following press releases –

Press release dated 8 October 2019

Press release dated 26 July 2019

Press release dated 28 April 2017

Press release dated 5 April 2017

Public Services

top-banner

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What is a declaration/oath/affirmation?
  1. Any charge incurred in declaration or oath/affirmation service?

No, our declaration or oath/affirmation service is free of charge.

  1. Where can I find the declaration or oath/affirmation service time slots and the addresses of the Home Affairs Enquiry Centres (Enquiry Centres) ?

Since different Enquiry Centres have different time slots for declaration or oath/affirmation service, please call our Telephone Enquiry Centre at 2835 2500 during office hours (Monday to Friday from 9:00am to 7:00pm, except public holidays) for the service time slots. You may click here for the addresses, telephone numbers and the declaration or oath/affirmation service time slots of the Enquiry Centres.

  1. Does your department provide attestation of signature service?

No, we only provide declaration or oath/affirmation service. The Commissioner for Oaths is not empowered under the Oaths and Declarations Ordinance to attest to the authenticity of signatures. You may consider attaching the required document as an exhibit to the declaration or affidavit/affirmation and declare or swear/affirm the signature in the exhibit is true and correct. You should consult the relevant organisation on whether the declaration or oath/affirmation will be accepted.

  1. Does your department provide certified true copy service ?

No, we only provide declaration or oath/affirmation service. The Commissioner for Oaths is not empowered under the Oaths and Declarations Ordinance to certify a document as a true copy of its original and is not in a position to ascertain the authenticity of the original document. You may consider attaching the document as an exhibit to the declaration or affidavit/affirmation and declare the exhibit is the true copy of the original document. You should consult the relevant organisation on whether the declaration or oath/affirmation will be accepted.

  1. What language should be used when filling in the form and making declaration or oath/affirmation?

A declaration or affidavit/affirmation should be completed in official language (Chinese or English). If appropriate, you have to consult the relevant organisation on the type of official language to be used. If you understand the contents of the declaration or affidavit/affirmation, you may read out the declaration or oath/affirmation in Chinese or English.

If you are not conversant with official language (including those who are only conversant with dialect other than Cantonese and Putonghua) or do not understand the contents of the declaration or affidavit/affirmation, the Home Affairs Department can book a timeslot for provision of on-site interpretation service by non-governmental organisaton. Alternatively, you may also choose to bring along a person who is conversant with the official language and the language/dialect which you are conversant with to act as interpreter. The interpreter has to truly, distinctly and audibly interpret the contents to you in front of the Commissioner for Oaths and provide guidance to you in the course of administering and/or reading out the declaration or oath/affirmation. The interpreter is also required to declare or swear that he has truly, distinctly and audibly interpreted the contents to you in front of the Commissioner for Oaths.

  1. If I am illiterate, how can I make a declaration or oath/affirmation?

You have to be accompanied by a relative or friend who can complete the declaration or affidavit/affirmation for you and read out the declaration or oath/affirmation to you in front of the Commissioner for Oaths. The relative or friend is also required to declare or swear that he has truly, distinctly and audibly interpreted the contents to you in front of the Commissioner for Oaths.

  1. Can the declaration for early withdrawal of accrued benefits under the Mandatory Provident Fund be processed?

Yes, you can approach any of our Home Affairs Enquiry Centres (Enquiry Centres) in person. You need to bring along your Identity Card and fill in the designated declaration form issued by the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority. Please click here for the addresses, telephone numbers and the declaration time slots of the Enquiry Centres.

关闭按钮

重要公告

民政事务总署「居安抗疫」电话热线(1833 019) 为「居安抗疫」人士提供支援和协助,运作时间为每日早上七时至晚上十一时。

本署提醒市民,小心伪冒声称来自本署的来电及来信,在一般情况下我们不会以查询热线致电市民,我们也不会致电或以书面形式要求市民提供个人资料或缴交款项。由于我们的查询热线以中央电话系统操作,本署的来电不会显示电话号码 2835 2500 。如有疑问,应与本署职员核实或向警方 反诈骗协调中心 24小时防骗易谘询热线 18222 查询。详情请浏览以下新闻公报:

二零一九年十月八日的新闻公报

二零一九年七月二十六日的新闻公报

二零一七年四月二十八日的新闻公报

二零一七年四月五日的新闻公报

公共服务

top-banner

常见问题

什么是声明/宣誓?

若市民向政府部门或非政府机构提出要求或作出申请,需要提供证明而未能出示有效证明文件时,一般会以声明代替该证明文件。

宣誓一般于需要誓章的情况下作出。誓章是一份事实陈述书,以宣誓人的宣誓证明其属实性。誓章一般使用于法律程序中,在法律认可或规定誓章作为其内容的证据的情况下作出。

宣誓分为两种,宗教式宣誓与非宗教式宣誓。当市民基于某种原因,例如宗教信仰反对作出宗教式宣誓,而法律规定需为任何目的作出宣誓,可以作出非宗教式宣誓代替。非宗教式誓词是一份事实陈述书,以确认者谨以至诚郑重确认证明其属实性。

办理声明/宣誓服务是否收费?

本署的办理声明或宣誓服务是免费的。

如何寻找各民政谘询中心(谘询中心)的地址、电话及办理声明/宣誓时间?

由于各谘询中心办理声明或宣誓服务的时间不相同,请你于办公时间内(逢星期一至五上午九时至下午七时,公众假期除外)致电 2835 2500 联络本署电话谘询中心,查询各谘询中心的地址及办理声明或宣誓的服务时段。你亦可按 此处 查阅各谘询中心的地址、电话及办理声明/宣誓时段。

民政事务总署可有提供签名见证服务?

本署只提供办理声明或宣誓服务,因《宣誓及声明条例》并无授权监誓员为他人见证其签名的真确性。但你可考虑把需要签名见证的文件作为声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词的附件,由你本人声明或宣誓/确认在该附件的签名是你本人的真确签名。另外,你需要向递交文件的机构查问会否接受声明或宣誓。

民政事务总署可有提供核证副本服务?

本署只提供办理声明或宣誓服务,因《宣誓及声明条例》并无授权监誓员为他人核证副本,监誓员亦不能为他人确认文件正本的真确性。但你可考虑把需要核证的文件作为声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词的附件,由你本人声明或宣誓/确认该附件是文件正本的真确副本。另外,你需要向递交这份文件的机构查问会否接受声明或宣誓。

声明/誓章/非宗教式誓词可用什么语言填写和用什么语言读出声明词/誓言字句?

声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词须以法定语文(中文或英文)填写。然而,如有需要,你应向递交这份声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词的机构查问该使用哪一种法定语文填写。若你了解声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词的内容,你可以选择以中文或英文读出声明词或誓言字句。

如你不谙熟法定语文 (包括只谙熟广东话及普通话以外的方言) 或不了解声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词的内容,民政事务总署可为你预约时段由非政府机构提供现场传译服务。你亦可选择自行带同一名谙熟法定语文及你所谙熟的语文/方言的人士担当传译员。传译员需在监誓员面前将声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词内容向你作出真实明确及清晰可闻的传译,并在你办理声明/宣誓及/或读出声明词/誓言字句的过程中提供适切的协助。传译员也要作出声明或宗教式宣誓,以证明他已在监誓员面前将声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词内容向你作出真实明确及清晰可闻的传译。

我是不识字的,应怎样办理声明/宣誓?

你须带同一位亲属或朋友前来为你填写声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词及在监誓员面前将声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词内容真实明确及清晰地向你宣读,而你的亲属或朋友也要作出声明或宗教式宣誓,以证明他已在监誓员面前将声明或誓章/非宗教式誓词内容向你作出真实明确及清晰可闻的传译。

可否办理提早提取强制性公积金累算权益的声明?

可以的。你只须带同身分证明文件及填写由强制性公积金计划管理局制定的声明表格,到任何一间民政谘询中心(谘询中心)办理。请按此处查阅各谘询中心的地址、电话及办理声明时段。