Close Button

Important Note

The “StayHomeSafe” telephone hotline (1833 019) of the Home Affairs Department renders support and assistance to persons under the “StayHomeSafe” Scheme. Its service hours are from 7am to 11pm daily.

We remind you to stay vigilant to fraudulent phone calls and correspondence claiming to be from our office. We will not normally make calls to members of the public through the hotline. We will not make phone calls or write to members of the public to ask them to provide personal information or make any payment. As our hotline is operated by a central telephone system, the hotline number 2835 2500 will not be displayed. If you have any doubt, please contact our staff for verification or please call the Hong Kong Police Anti-Deception Coordination Centre 24-hour Anti-Scam Helpline 18222 for enquiry. For details, please browse the following press releases –

Press release dated 8 October 2019

Press release dated 26 July 2019

Press release dated 28 April 2017

Press release dated 5 April 2017

Public Services

top-banner

Powers of the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs

Introduction

  1. This section aims to introduce in simple terms the powers provided to the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs under the Probate and Administration Ordinance (Cap.10). The section has no legal effect. In case of queries, readers are advised to consult lawyers or seek legal advice through the Free Legal Advice Scheme administered by the Duty Lawyer Service. Appointments for meeting with duty lawyer under the Free Legal Advice Scheme may be made at the Home Affairs Enquiry Centres of the Home Affairs Department.

    Enquiry Hotline : 2835 2500
    Website : http://www.had.gov.hk/en/public_services/public_enquiry_services/provided.htm#4

  1. The estate of the deceased person refers to his assets and liabilities in Hong Kong as at the date of death. Under the Probate and Administration Ordinance, assets means assets in the form of real property or personal property situated in Hong Kong; and liabilities means liabilities contracted by the deceased person in Hong Kong to persons ordinarily resident in Hong Kong or any other liabilities contracted by the deceased person and charged on any of his property situated in Hong Kong.

Powers of the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs

  1. To facilitate the management of the estate of a person who died on or after 11 February 2006 before the application for summary administration, a grant of representation or sealing of a foreign grant (i.e. a grant issued by a foreign court of probate) in respect of such an estate, the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs is empowered under the Probate and Administration Ordinance (Cap. 10) to provide upon application the following services for estate beneficiaries -

    1. for the administration of a small estate made up of money not exceeding $50,000 in aggregate value, to issue a Confirmation Notice exempting persons dealing with the small estate from the intermeddling provisions;
    2. to issue a Certificate for Necessity of Release of Money to meet funeral expenses of the deceased person or maintenance of former dependants of the deceased person;
    3. if the deceased person rented a bank deposit box, to issue a Certificate for Necessity of Inspection of Bank Deposit Box and to send officers to witness the inspection of the safe deposit box and preparation of a signed inventory by the estate beneficiary; and
    4. to issue an Authorization for Removal from Bank Deposit Box to enable the estate beneficiaries or the surviving renters to remove specified document or articles from the safe deposit box.

Powers delegated to the Director of Home Affairs

  1. Since the abolition of estate duty on 11 February 2006, the Commissioner of Inland Revenue, under the delegated authority from the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, had provided the relevant services to the estate beneficiaries. With effect from 1 April 2007, under the delegated authority from the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, the Director of Home Affairs takes over from the Commissioner of Inland Revenue the provision of various services for estate beneficiaries through the establishment of an "Estate Beneficiaries Support Unit".

關閉按鈕

重要公告

民政事務總署為「居安抗疫」計劃設立的24小時電話熱線(1833 019)已投入服務,為在計劃下進行家居檢疫的人士提供支援和協助。

本署提醒市民,小心偽冒聲稱來自本署的來電及來信,在一般情況下我們不會以查詢熱線致電市民,我們也不會致電或以書面形式要求市民提供個人資料或繳交款項。由於我們的查詢熱線以中央電話系統操作,本署的來電不會顯示電話號碼 2835 2500 。如有疑問,應與本署職員核實或向警方 反詐騙協調中心 24小時防騙易諮詢熱線 18222 查詢。詳情請瀏覽以下新聞公報:

二零一九年十月八日的新聞公報

二零一九年七月二十六日的新聞公報

二零一七年四月二十八日的新聞公報

二零一七年四月五日的新聞公報

公共服務

top-banner

民政事務局局長的權力

引言

  1. 本部分簡單介紹《遺囑認證及遺產管理條例》 (香港法例第 10 章)授予民政事務局局長的權力。本部分並無法律效力。如有任何疑問,請徵詢律師的意見,或透過由當值律師服務管理的免費法律諮詢計劃向義務律師徵詢法律意見。市民可選擇經民政事務總署轄下的民政諮詢中心預約免費法律諮詢服務:

    查詢熱線: 2835 2500
    網  址: http://www.had.gov.hk/tc/public_services/public_enquiry_services/provided.htm#4

  1. 死者的遺產是指死者在去世當日在香港的資產和負債。根據《遺囑認證及遺產管理條例》,資產是指在香港的土地實產或非土地財產,負債是指死者向通常居於香港的人士承擔的債務,或死者所承擔的並以死者在香港的任何財產作為抵押的任何其他債務。

民政事務局局長的權力

  1. 為方便有關人士在申請以簡易方式管理遺產、遺產承辦書或在香港以外地方的遺囑認證法院發出的遺產承辦書上蓋章之前,管理在去世的人士的遺產,民政事務局局長根據《遺囑認證及遺產管理條例》 (香港法例第 10 章)授予的權力,在接獲申請後,向遺產受益人提供以下服務:
    1. 就總額不超過 50,000 元的款項的小額遺產的管理,發出確認通知書,給予處理該等小額遺產的人士豁免,使其不受有關擅自處理遺產的條文規限;
    2. 發出需要支用款項證明書,以支付死者的殯殮開支或死者生前贍養的人士的生活費
    3. 如死者曾租用銀行保管箱,發出需要檢視銀行保管箱證明書,並派員見證遺產受益人檢視保管箱內的物品以及擬備和簽署物品清單;
    4. 發出自銀行保管箱取去物品授權書,讓遺產受益人或尚存租用人從銀行保管箱取去指明的文件及/或物品。

民政事務總署署長獲轉授的權力

  1. 自遺產稅在二零零六年二月十一日取消後,稅務局局長獲民政事務局局長轉授權力,在過渡期內向遺產受益人提供支援服務。由二零零七年四月一日起,民政事務總署署長根據民政事務局局長轉授的權力,從稅務局局長接手遺產受益人支援服務,並設立「遺產受益人支援組」提供有關服務。